Dr. Sarah Veatch is an Assistant Professor of Biophysics and Physics and has been at the University of Michigan since 2010. She completed her PhD in Physics at the University of Washington with Sarah Keller, where she did pioneering work characterizing coexisting liquid phases in purified membrane vesicles. Sarah conducted  postdoctoral training with Barbara Baird and David Holowka at Cornell University, where she discovered that isolated cell plasma membranes are poised close to a miscibility critical point at growth temperatures and began applying newly developed super resolution fluorescence localization imaging techniques to quantify biological membrane heterogeneity.  Sarah has built upon these foundations in her independent laboratory, which aims to understand how cells exploit the mixing properties of plasma membrane lipids to accomplish diverse biological functions.

Sarah has received numerous awards since joining the faculty at UM, including the Howard Prize from Durham University in 2015, the Margaret Oakley Dayhoff award from the Biophysical Society in 2014, and the a Sloan Research Fellowship in 2012.
Matthew Stone joined the Veatch lab in 2011 as a PhD student in Biophysics at the University of Michigan. His research generally aims to quantify spatially heterogeneous plasma membrane compositions using multi color super-resolution microscopy. He is investigating how the plasma membrane composition around the B cell receptor is organized during antigen stimulation.  He also works on the development of super-resolution techniques and analysis to allow sensitive and quantitative determination of protein spatial distributions.

Matt was a molecular biophysics training grand recipient in 2010-2012 and was awarded a Rackham Predoctoral Fellowship in 2015.
Marcos Núñez a 3rd year Biophysics Graduate Student. He is currently measuring the enrichment or depletion of certain lipid probes surrounding clusters of Cholera Toxin B Subunit utilizing cross-correlation analysis of super-resolution images. He was born in Guatemala and raised in So-Cal.  His LinkedIn contains more information.

Marcos is a Gates Millennium Scholar and a Rackham merit fellowship recipient.

  Julia Bourg
 Brian DeVree
 Sarah Shelby    
 Mariam Nouri
 Kathleen Wisser
 Adam Sabilo
 Rohan Desai is from South Carolina and is currently a junior in the undergraduate Biophysics and Astrophysics programs at the University of Michigan. He is currently conducting experiments with flavivirus NS1 proteins and observing how it binds to and alters the critical temperatures of isolated plasma membrane vesicles.
  Juan Lazo
 Former Lab Members 
Erin Gray completed her B.Sc. in Biophysics and Mathematical Biology in 2014 and a M.Sc. in Cancer Chemical Biology in 2015 at the University of Michigan.  She now attends Medical School at the University of Michigan. In the Veatch lab, Erin detailed how plasma membrane vesicle transition temperatures varied with growth conditions and within the cell cycle. Her results are currently submitted for publication.
 Margaret Burns
 Elly Gray completed her B.Sc. in Biophysics in 2013 and a M.Sc. in Cancer Chemical Biology in 2014 at the University of Michigan.  She now attends Medical School at the University of Michigan.  In the Veatch lab, Elly demonstrated the n-alcohol general anesthetics lowered critical temperatures in isolated plasma membrane vesicles.  Her work is published in the Biophysical Journal.
 Elin Edwald completed her Biochemistry at the University of Iceland in 2005, before undergoing a Japanese training program at the University of Tsukuba and completing her M.Sc. in Biotechnological science there in 2008. She graduated in 2014 with her PhD from the Chemical Biology Doctoral Program.  In the Veatch lab, Elin quantified the dynamics of membrane anchored proteins and peptides using single particle tracking and super-resolution imaging.  A subset of her work is published in Biophysical Journal and a second manuscript is in preparation.